Meal Deal – any sandwich, drink and a helping of Zen – £2.99


 

The current climate of my brain being what it is (decidedly squally) you may find I take refuge in more frequent posts.  Not promising quality, but I have to keep my mind in some sort of order.

So…

Did you know that you can now purchase ancient wisdom in the free market arena?  Specifically, on the back of a packet of sushi from the Co-op.

MEAL DEAL with Zen

 

Above, my empty packet of sushi.  Here’s what was written on the side:

 

In case it looks blurry, I shall transcribe.  Ahem..

“Zen is a branch of Buddhism popular in Japan.  Zen discourages the pursuit of worldly things” [excepting Meal Deal offers?] “and acknowledges that life’s pain and suffering often comes from material desires.” [excepting the desire for nicely packaged sushi bought from a supermarket chain, one assumes..]

So, there you go.  Your daily dose of the weirdness that is life in the UK.  Add to that, this branch of Co-op served primarily as a petrol station (my friend, M, was filling up before dropping me home), and the absurdity reaches new heights. 

I laugh at this stuff because it’s just so surreal.  We’re living in a dream.

Leave a Reply

