IB50


 

I’ve received one of these lovely forms in the post, asking me to prove why I need benefits.  I reckon it must be the recent change in government that has kicked this off, as I remember something on the news about everyone claiming on the grounds of incapacity were going to be re-evaluated.

When I was well enough to do a bit of volunteering I filled in numerous benefits forms on behalf of people who would come in to take advantage of the form-filling service we offered.  I remember the drill.  So why has it taken me three weeks to get half-way through it?

It’s never the same when you’re doing something on someone else’s behalf, is it?  I am procrastinating because I really don’t want to write about my ‘incapacity’.  Although I moan on here when I have a bad day, that’s different, because I’m talking about my feelings.  These forms are much more clinical, and, at the end of the day, I know that if I don’t word things correctly, if I miss something out, if I mess it up, I’ll be hauled in for a medical examination and yada, yada, yada.

I don’t want to be on benefits, but nor do I want to be refused them whilst suitable employment is not readily available.  So, the bloody form…

Leave a Reply

