‘Random’ post


 

Just checking in really, since its been a little while since I posted.  Have nothing very special to say so you shall be treated to my random ponderings as they appear before me.

Hmmm, well, first shall we talk about films?  I hadn’t been to the cinema for ages so it was nice to watch a couple of films over the last two weeks.  First I watched The Collector.  I don’t recommend it.  It was a decision made via the always risky ‘let’s just go to the cinema and then pick a film based on what’s showing at the time we show up’ method.  It’s a lucky dip if you go without the first idea what’s out and what all the films that are out are about.  It was gory and I’d seen it all before.  Moving on…

the latest film I watched was Killers.  This is a rom-com-action mash up.  Ashton Kutcher (not really seen anything he’s done except Butterfly Effect) and Katherine Heigl.  Tom Selleck for good measure also.  It was eminently watchable.  I’m referring to Ashton Kutcher’s ripped torso, of course.  No more crap jokes, promise, just had to get that one out of my system. 

Yeah, it’s a frothy film, not requiring much in the way of cerebral processing from the audience, which suits me down to the ground.  A cross between a spy caper and romantic comedy, probably owing something to Cary Grant/Rock Hudson/Doris Day styled films.  Nice provides the backdrop for the first few scenes, which is gorgeous.  It’s slick and funny in parts.

And the down side?  Well, it’s a bit contrived.  Incredibly contrived.  I know, suspension of disbelief and all that, but there’s a limit to how much you can expect me to take.  Like for some weird reason it bugged me that Heigl’s character, fresh from a break-up and holidaying in Nice with her parents, meets, falls in love with and decides to marry Ashton Kutcher in, oh, around TWO DAYS!  Purleease.

I can forgive the farcical plot twists towards the end because it feels like they are done with a wink and a nod at the audience.

All in all then, it was easy to watch, funny in parts and it was a nice bit of escapism.

I said I was going to talk about films as a ‘firstly’, but I’m tired now, so won’t go on any further.  Talk to you soon.

Leave a Reply

