A Short post – CBT sesh


Just back from a CBT session (this is the third of about 6 or 8 that are available through NHS). I asked to be put on the list for talking therapy around Christmas time when I was, let’s say, not very chipper!

I find it slightly worrying that it wasn’t offered and I had to ask because if it’s quite possible that others could have gone to G.P. feeling too low/depressed/anxious to ask such questions as “Can you refer me for counselling?”

Anyway, my problem with life is that nothing lasts forever. So when I come to the end of something, as with my recent groups and short courses, I always feel a little bereft. I know this can turn into an unhelpful maze of negative thinking and before I know it I can be lying in bed, nightwear plastered to my body, with a feeling of hoplessness.

I am trying to resist this by taking small steps. I now have an activity diary to complete as of today so if I can just keep my head above water I’m hoping this listnessness will be temporary :s

Sleep, sleep, sleep, it’s sooo important for keeping the mind healthy and mine has gone to pot the last few weeks. It’s ridiculous times – 6am being the worst so far for getting off to sleep; I really need a few good nights’ sleep. I’m on amitriptyline low dose for sleep but it makes me groggy rather than actually rendering me unconscious. Anyways…peace to anyone stopping by xx

4 thoughts on “A Short post – CBT sesh

  1. If all you have to show for three sessions of therapy is an activity diary, it makes it seem a bit “low intensity”. Proper CBT (they call it “high intensity” in the NHS) gives you a formulation so you understand why you became ill in the first place, and a treatment plan so you understand the path to full and permanent recovery. Perhaps you’ll have to ask your GP for that too.

    I know several people who find melatonin very useful for promoting sleep. A couple of them take amitriptyline too, which has a different mode of action so it does not interfere.

  2. well, regarding it being “low intensity”, you’re right. It is. I’ve never known of nor been offered anything different NHS or otherwise.

    I should probably say that I agreed to have a break between my alloted sessions because I was doing other cognitively draining things at the time. I attended the first two and then, because I was trying to achieve a goal of doing a night school course, the therapist strongly suggested that it wasn’t perhaps the right time for her to add to that with the homeworks involved.
    I was so tired with CFS so I was pretty disengaged in the second session despite wanting to have the help.
    Today was my pick-up day – session 3 – but she also mentioned they can give self help materials and just phone you to see how you’re getting on. I didn’t want that because I feel I need someone in front of me, engaging with me.
    I know from past comments you’ve made around blogs that you clearly separate the CBT I’ve described from “proper” CBT, but it’s hard because this is what is and always has been my experience of this therapy. I’ve also been told it isn’t intended to make you look at your past, rather make fairly quick changes. Hence why the NHS adores it I guess😉
    So, if i can ask you a question: Is there a different association of CBT practictioners who do the proper CBT, as you term it? If so, is there a website I can look at, or is it a case of going through the BABCP and finding someone who does more in depth?

  3. The BABCP’s register of therapists is the main one. However, it’s mostly intended for private practices. NHS therapists might be hidden from public view in the register (although I can look them up if you e-mail me). NHS referrals have to go through your GP anyway, so the register isn’t too useful in that case.

    Yes, the NHS likes the low intensity approach because it’s quick and cheap. But if someone has longer-term problems the NHS can also provide more in-depth therapy. Unfortunately, they often have to be pushed quite hard to get them to do that, and as you point out in your post, anyone who suffers from low mood will find it difficult to be pushy enough.

    • Thanks CBTish,
      I’ll favourite the bookmark to look at in more depth🙂
      I did get long term help once through NHS (about 12 months), but that was pre-diagnosis,ten years ago and my first episode was my worst because it was compounded by the terror of not knowing why my brain was acting the way it was.
      Anyway, thanks again

Leave a Reply

